When in Rome, break your phone

By Madelyn Carter

So remember when I told you that a bowl of rice and 2 sweet Italian waiters saved my phone? Well that’s what I thought until I tried plugging my phone in for the evening, only to discover it cannot charge. I tried everything, my phone just refuses to reveal the small lightning bolt by the battery in the top right corner that I so desperately desire. My phone is sitting at 18% and is shut off just so I can call my mom when I land in San Antonio on Sunday.

I’m not desperate for a charged phone for communication or social media or stuff like that. While I’d obviously love to Instagram my Rome pics and be able to text my mom that I had a great day, these aren’t my deepest concerns. The biggest issue with a non-functioning phone that may not outlast 18% is that I have no access to my photos or the ability to take any photos. After seeing that I’ve taken 600 photos on CR6 so far, I panicked that I may never see them again. I panicked at the fact that I love Rome so much and I can’t take any pictures of it.

So as I woke up this morning to face this daunting challenge of a potentially picture-less 3 and a half week trip of Europe, it was time to take on the Colosseum. I walked through the inside periodically contemplating how I was going to save my memories from CR6. I was fascinated picturing the gladiators and spectators at the games, but downtrodden that I didn’t obtain personal lasting memories in pictures. We exited the arena and entered the Forum, the city center of Ancient Rome, and that’s where it hit me. I took a step back and realized what I was stepping in. I was were Julius Caesar was cremated, where Paul and Peter were imprisoned, where the people who shaped how our world works today shopped and lived.

Yes taking a picture of that would be great, but the physical feeling of standing in those ruins cannot be encapsulated in a photo. My memories of CR6 are not locked in the casing of an iPhone 5. Today I walked down steps designed by Michelangelo, I stood on top of the “wedding cake”, and I had 2 rounds of gelato. That’s great in pictures, but it’s even better in my heart (oo wow so deep I know). But really.

I gave myself a hard talking to in my mind that I’m in Rome for Pete’s sake. I have 3 days left with my CR6 family, and while not having a phone makes it challenging, it cannot take away from the greatness of this trip.

So if you need to reach me, send a smoke signal or a carrier pigeon because I am off the grid. Another day of exploring Rome begins, ciao!

One thought on “When in Rome, break your phone

Leave a comment